Dissertation award

At the biennial NVP Winter conference, the society awards a prize for the PhD thesis conducted in the Netherlands that made the most outstanding contribution to scientific knowledge in the field of Brain and Cognition. Eligible candidates have obtained a PhD degree from any Dutch university/institute in the roughly two-year time span between the deadlines of the previous and current thesis awards. Candidates can self-nominate or be nominated by their (co)promotor. The submitted PhD thesis should be original work in the field of Brain and Cognition and related fields, i.e. work in those fields that would typically be suitable for submission for poster and/or oral presentations at the NVP conference .

The next call for applications will be announced as the next NVP winterconference approaches.

Previous winners

  • 2019: Gilles de Hollander
  • 2017: Anne Urai
  • 2015: Iris Groen
  • 2013: Sebastiaan Mathôt
  • 2011: Myrthe Plaisier
  • 2009: Floris de Lange
  • 2007: Ryota Kanai
  • 2005: Eveline Crone
  • 2003: Eric-Jan Wagenmakers

And others, including Maarten van der Smagt, Frank Zaal, and Frans Verstraten!